Composite Classes

Upon reading Mellissa’s blog post, I began to realise some similarities we shared, in terms of our professional experience contexts. I noticed that we both taught a composite class in a rural area. However, my context was Year 2/ Year 3. It was upon looking at this similarity that I began to reflect upon my experience of teaching a composite class. I found it very challenging as for every one lesson I was having to plan two lessons, one for the grade 2’s and one for the grade 3’s. This was very time consuming and exhausting, in comparison to teaching classes with only one year level. It would be interesting to hear how Mellissa felt about this aspect of her professional experience.

I found this article particularly interesting, in terms of the positives and negatives of teaching composite classes.

Leave a Reply

