Building Relationships with Students

Within my professional experience, I continually saw the benefits that stem from building relationships with each student within the class. Each student within my context brought with them various backgrounds, home environments, experiences and interests. On my first day, my aim was to build relationships with these students, through engaging in one-one discussions, where I would introduce myself and ask students a variety of questions about themselves. By the end of these conversations we were able to make effective connections, which is integral within the classroom. It was then that I realised that before teaching students the teacher must first gain a sense of trust and respect from their students. It is through these effective relationships that the students and the teacher are able to learn collaboratively, within a relaxed, safe and supportive environment.

This article provides some additional information about the importance of building relationships with students.

Leave a Reply

